So yesterday I was about 18 inches from a (teenage) black bear. He was cute, if not absolutely terrifying. He was going through the trash next to the house where I am currently staying. Of course, I was safely inside the aforementioned house. I wouldn’t actually be that close without a very thick protective wall between me and the black bear. I’m a total wimp when it comes to things like that. But that was the first bear I had ever seen in my entire life that wasn’t in a zoo or stuffed. Thankfully he left with only the trash (albeit a few hours later), but he did leave a lot of it on the driveway and in the nearby woods. We were stuck inside out of fear of him. But it wasn’t too bad; we watched the crazy flying squirrels fight on the porch and looked at pretty moths, with yellow and purple marks (I guess they were Viking fans 😉 ).

Life in the woods is pretty and quiet. I could definitely live in a place like this, even though the nearest “real” city is at least an hour and a half away. More than that, however, I could see my parents living here when they retire. It’s quiet and out in the country, but not too far from civilization. You only have to drive 10 minutes to a grocery store and there is a small downtown area with local shops and a farmer’s market on the weekends. True shopping, however, is about an hour away but other than that, this place is pretty much perfect.

The long period of waiting is coming to a quick end. I didn’t realize how little time I had left before school until I got the orientation email on Thursday. The week-long schedule was sent out, along with a book list for Legal Skills. Although it was nice to finally get something concrete, it also made me realize that after I get back from my trip to the mountains, I have 17 days left before I move. I have to get the (re-)packing in motion soon, because I have a lot of stuff. Some of it is getting shipped (because I drive a little hatchback and can’t fit everything I own) so all my boxes from undergrad have to be opened and repacked so that the stuff I need right away will actually be in the car. And so that I don’t bring every book I own.

I also spent some time recently cleaning up my blog links and making everything look pretty here. Hopefully I will have more to say about upcoming school stuff and other life adventures in the near future.

