I’ve officially made the big move to law school. My sister and I drove the 12-hour drive from home to here (without killing each other, I might add) and she is currently helping me get settled into my new city. So far I’ve set up my PO Box, bought some (but not all) of my new furniture, and made countless trips to Wal-mart, Target, and Bed, Bath, and Beyond. We’ve still got a few things left to, like getting a library card and having phone/internet set up, but I think we’ve made good progress so far.

The worst part about this moving experience so far has been IKEA. I should point out that I love IKEA. I have a soft spot for all things Swedish anyway, so IKEA just won me over the first time I set foot in a store. That just made our trip all the more disappointing. The nearest IKEA to here is about two hours away on a highway that gets very congested sometimes. So the drive was *eventful* to say the least. We got a little lost after getting off the exit, sat in traffic because of a horrible accident involving an F-150 and a motorcycle (Spoiler: the motorcycle got the worst of it), and then almost got hit by a very large SUV in a parking garage. The IKEA was… sad. Back home, the IKEA is very well organized and clean and this one was not. And we also couldn’t get everything we needed. Half of the furniture I wanted (and that I knew would fit into my tiny apartment) was sold out, with no expected delivery date. Thankfully we are headed back up there to visit some of my friends in a few days, so maybe they will have it in stock (or we can go to another IKEA in the general area).

We are also currently without internet. I didn’t realize how much I depended on the internet on a daily basis until I couldn’t access it. I couldn’t access my email or my RSS reader (which was overflowing by the time I got to finally read it). My mother sent me the tracking numbers for the rest of my stuff, but I couldn’t pull it up to see them or check out the UPS website to see where it is. We are currently stealing wifi from Panera to feed our internet addictions. Sad but true.

I have had one hitch in getting my books. I ordered all but two books from Half.Com and Amazon a few weeks ago. I got all but one before I moved away from home. The last one, thankfully the only one I ordered that was not required, has not arrived and it is almost a week past the date that I could file a claim with Half.Com. I’m hoping to resolve this quickly and easily, but there are never any guarantees. At least I won’t be waiting for a required book, but I was interested in reading it (Plain English for Lawyers).

With thirteen (13?!) days left until orientation starts, I think I am pretty set for 1L to start. I have books, my class schedule, a place to live, and a car to get me there. All I need now is steady internet and law school can officially start!

